≡ Menu

2008 Rupert Clarke Stakes Dorabella

Click here to go back to the Australian Horse Racing Blog main page.

Here it is the 2008 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Replay:

Tomorrow Saturday the 20th of September is looking like a great day of thoroughbred racing, with plenty of wide open Group races. To me, the Group 1 2008 Rupert Clarke Stakes over 1400, looks much the same, with plenty of chances.

Because the Rupert Clarke Stakes looks so open, I’m going to go with a big roughie (because that’s what we do this time of year), that had absolutely no luck last start when beaten by Causeway Queen in the Rokk Handicap. And that horse is Dorabella! *GASP* I hear you say, and rightly so! Big step up to win a Group One race YOU DREAMER ?

But hey isn’t that what horse racing is all about? Going with your gut…. Dorabella looked to me like she would have killed that field, had she got run. She is a dual Group One winner in NZ, and at $35 fixed odds I think she is certainly worth a few dollars to beat her much more fancied rivals, and win the 2008 Rupert Clarke Stakes at Caulfield. Fingers Crossed!

Below is the 2008 Caulfield Rupert Clarke Stakes field:

1 NICONERO David Hayes – Craig Williams
2 BON HOFFA Wendy Kelly – Vlad Duric
3 SWICK (NZ) Bart Cummings – Michael Rodd
4 RUBISCENT Mick Price – Steven King
5 VALEDICTUM Danny O’Brien – Darren Gauci
6 ALEXANDER OF HALES (USA) Danny O’Brien – James Winks
7 ORANGE COUNTY (NZ) Brian Mayfield-Smith – Damien Oliver
8 ESKIMO QUEEN (NZ) Michael Moroney – Mark Zahra
9 GOTTA HAVE HEART Mick Price – Craig Newitt
10 HERE DE ANGELS Lee Freedman – Dwayne Dunn
11 OUR SMOKING JOE Lee Freedman – Ben Melham
12 MARCHING Peter Snowden – Mark Pegus
13 STICKPIN (NZ) Brian Mayfield-Smith – Peter Mertens
14 SERIOUS SPEED Leon Macdonald – Danny Nikolic
15 TURFFONTEIN Anthony Cummings – Chris Symons
16 FRIDAY CREEK David Hayes – Aaron Spiteri
17 DORABELLA (NZ) – Mick Price – Jason Benbow
18 J’ADANE (NZ) Russell Cameron – Mark Du Plessis
19e KINGDA KA Gai Waterhouse – Stephen Baster
20e SOUND JOURNEY Mick Price
22e AZTEC SMYTZER Byron Cozamanis

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment