≡ Menu

Victorian Racing Awards 2009

Training legend Bart Cummings, sprint star Scenic Blast and jockey Craig Williams were the big winners at the Victorian Thoroughbred Racing Awards presented on Sunday.

Cummings won his second Fred Hoysted Medal for his feats during the spring carnival in which Viewed gave him his 12th Melbourne Cup in 2008 victory and Swick won the Patinack Farm Classic.

West Australian Scenic Blast was named the Victorian Racehorse of the Year for his wins in the Group One Lightning Stakes and Newmarket Handicap.

Although Scenic Blast’s win in the King’s Stand at Royal Ascot did not count towards the Victorian honour, it helped make him Australasia’s equal top ranked performer alongside Weekend Hussler in the international rankings.

Williams claimed his fourth straight Scobie Breasley Medal when he outpolled Damien Oliver, the only other jockey to win the award in four consecutive years.

Williams polled 73 votes to defeat six-time winner Oliver (58) and Brad Rawiller (39).

Oliver and Williams dominated the 2008-09 Victorian racing season, tying for the Melbourne jockeys premiership with 70 winners apiece.

Williams’ season was highlighted by two Group One wins for the season, both aboard grand veteran Niconero in the Futurity Stakes at Caulfield and the Australian Cup at Flemington.

Champion jumps jockey Brett Scott won his third straight Tommy Corrigan Medal polling 37 votes to deny rival Steven Pateman (29) while Linda Meech capped a great season by being named the Country Jockey of the Year.

Victorian Racing Award Winners 2009:

* Country Apprentice: Brenton Avdulla

* Metropolitan Apprentice: Nicholas Hall

* VJA Outstanding Apprentice: Brenton Avdulla

* ATA Trainer of Apprentice: John Moloney

* Victorian Jumps Jockey Premiership: Steven Pateman

* Tommy Corrigan Medal: B rett Scott

* Victorian Racehorse of the Year: Scenic Blast

* Country Trainer of the Year: Darren Weir

* Metropolitan Trainer Premiership: Lee Freedman

* Fred Hoysted Medal: Bart Cummings

* Most Memorable Moment Award: Robbie Laing

* Country Jockey of the Year: Linda Meech

* Metropolitan Jockey Premiership: Craig Williams and Damien Oliver

* Scobie Breasley Medal: Craig Williams

Article courtesy of Aapracing