≡ Menu

Theseo Wins NSW Racing Champion Award

Triple Group One winner Theseo has been honoured for a magnificent season by being crowned NSW champion for 2008-09. Theseo is also favoured by many to continue his god form and feature heavily in this years Cox Plate 2009 at Moonee Valley.

The Gai Waterhouse-trained gelding began his Group One haul with victory in the 2008 Epsom Handicap then travelled to Melbourne to win the 2008 Mackinnon Stakes.

He came back in the autumn to claim the Ranvet Stakes before running a game second to Fiumicino in the BMW.

FREE $100 BET if you JOIN and DEPOSIT $50!

Waterhouse took out the TJ Smith medal at the NSW Racehorse Owners Association (NSWROA) function for winning her seventh Sydney premiership but missed out in a thrilling finish to the inaugural Bart Cummings medal with Hugh Bowman victorious.

The Bart Cummings medal was based on a weekly points score for achievements during the season.

Bowman took out his first Sydney jockeys’ premiership and enjoyed his best moments aboard glamour filly Samantha Miss who was named Provincial Horse of the Year for the second consecutive year and also named Three-Year-Old of the Year.

International sprint star Takeover Target won his fourth title as country-trained Horse of the Year
and was also honoured as NSW champion sprinter for his Group One wins in the TJ Smith and Goodwood.

Recuperating in England from a career-ending injury, Takeover Target was undefeated in four Australian starts last season.

Among the other highlights was a special presentation to recently-retired racecaller Ian Craig for his outstanding contribution to the industry over more than 40 years.

As well as the awards, the function raised money for cancer support charity Redkite with a range of auction items.

Champion Horse of the Year: Theseo.

Two-Year-Old: Manhattan Rain.

Three-Year-Old: Samantha Miss.

Sprinter-Miler of the Year: Takeover Target.

Middle Distance: Theseo.

Stayer: Zavite.

Country Champion: Takeover Target.

Provincial Champion: Samantha Miss.

Queen of the Autumn: Belong To Many and Hot Danish (tie)

Broodmare: Shady Stream (dam of Takeover Target and Predatory Pricer).

TJ Smith Medal: Gai Waterhouse.

George Moore Medal: Hugh Bowman.

Theo Green Medal: Daniel Ganderton.

Bart Cummings Medal: Hugh Bowman.

Article courtesy of Aapracing

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment